Progress…

I’m doing pretty well on the Firestarters, aside from some difficulties with specifics.  This would be why I usually just use patterns as a jumping off point.  Ah well, it’s worth it!  Here’s Spencer checking out the socks — I think he approves!

10-08-07011-copy.jpg  10-08-07012-copy.jpg

Okay, so really he just digs the hang-y stitchmarkers (thanks again, BellaBabe & son!) .  I’m actually almost an inch into the gusset now, and worrying that it will be too loose.  I think others mentioned that & ended up fine, though, so I’m going to just go with it for a bit.

For the Harvest Sock Swap, I’m pretty sure I’m going with the firestarter pattern, but I have to finish this sock first to make sure I’m comfortable knitting it for someone else (although at least the pattern is written for  her foot size!).  I’m totally geeked about the theme I’m going with… did I mention it?  It’s based on a series of books we both enjoy.  I don’t want to give too many details away as I’m keeping it a secret, but it isn’t Harry Potter (although we both like those, too).

I’ve even finished the cuff of my Socktopia sock & started the lace chart.  AND I’m almost finished swatching for the SockWars sock.  I’ll post a pic tomorrow, probably.  The Lorna’s Laces Sport Weight is nice to work with, and it just zooms right along on size 3’s.

Urg, that’s about it for now, sounds like the boy is wiggling about in bed, and I need to tidy a bit for playgroup tomorrow.  I may need to hide the LL yarn from Liz; she claims she only wants to pet it, but I think she might be thinking evil thoughts; after all, she made some pretty socks on 3’s last fall, so she has a pattern handy… 😉