My secret Skein…

lol…I guess it isn’t the most exciting thing ever, but *I* am really excited about it! It’s the new Noro Sock Yarn!! πŸ™‚ I absolutely *love* the colorway.

Noro Kureyon Sock Yarn

It’s color #149 and I bought it at Little Knits (GREAT prices & decently fast shipping, as well!). It has a thick & thin quality to it and isn’t merino soft, really, but not rough, either. Kinda reminds me of the first Opal sock yarn I ever knit with, although that was primarily cotton, and this is a 70/30 wool/nylon blend. Unfortunately it says handwash only, although I read a review where someone knit it at a tight gauge (I intend to use my 0’s) and was able to machine wash it gently, so here’s hoping.

Of course who can place an order online and only buy one thing? These made their way to from rainy Seattle to rainy Michigan as well:

Noro Kochoran

Noro Kochoran color #1. I had forgotten how much purple was in this colorway. I like it, but I’m not in love with it the way I am with their #10 (the one I knit Spencer’s sweater with so long ago). I know I’ll enjoy every minute of knitting with it, though. Perhaps for another mama who wanted to commission me to make a sweater for her baby…? If you have never fondled this particular Noro, you must do so! I could never understand why people thought Noro was rough because Kochoran was all I’d ever handled. This stuff is a 50/30/20 blend of wool, angora & silk. YUM. Of course the colors & long stripes are just as wonderful as you’d expect from Noro. πŸ™‚

Because Jill is such a wonderful person, I am now the proud owner of some beautifully simple knitting themed stationary cards & gift tags.

Knitterella notecards & gift tags

She called them belated Christmas presents and handed them out to every person at our knit night — so sweet! I had a great time getting to chat with her (the first time since I really started “getting to know her” by reading & commenting on her blog, etc.), and seeing a few of the other ladies I used to knit with at the knit nights at our old LYS. Of course I also met some new ladies whom I hope to get to know better as I attend more often (Spencer’s teeth permitting, lol). They seem to have a great sense of humor — one of the ladies… Teresa, I think, insisted Jill autograph her Knitscene magazine as her notecards & gift tags were featured in one of their articles. You should have seen Jill blush! πŸ˜‰ Sorry, couldn’t resist… lol

I finally had a chance to photograph the 1st of the VSS socks…although they aren’t photographed very well! The color is very washed out, but the pattern shows up pretty well. Please disregard the wierd toe — my toe ends where the “toe” of the sock begins.Β  I’m about 2 repeats into it’s mate & think I can realistically expect to mail them by Friday.

Fancy silk sock 3

Lest you believe I’ve already forgotten yesterday’s post, I am happy to report that I successfully structured my day today so that I could get a little laundry done (dh will actually have a clean and dry work shirt tomorrow), tidy the living room & see that yesterday’s changes are good (although they will probably be tweaked further), and cook a decent & yummy dinner (that everyone except the baby enjoyed…baby’s a little too young for chili!). The curtain didn’t get hung up, but you can’t expect miracles, after all. Especially when I have this little rug rat working against me:

01-08-08014-copy.jpg

Is that an M&M on my floor? *sigh*

lol At least Spence didn’t discover it & eat it! πŸ˜‰

And just because I can’t resist, here are a few more baby shots – Spencer with his cousin Haley Dawn:

01-08-08004-copy.jpg 01-08-08009-copy.jpg

01-08-08007-copy.jpg 01-08-08006-copy.jpg

They’re going to be great friends, I can just tell!

6 thoughts on “My secret Skein…

  1. Nice Noro sock yarn, I think I am going to have to give this stuff a chance soon:) How lucky for you to get to know Jill, she is a wonderful blogger and has to be more fantastic in person. Good luck keeping your organization one step ahead of your little tornado!

  2. Love the photo, I remember those days when NOTHING was aloud to stay in a drawer or box. It all had to be out on the floor. And I had a tag team of two. So keep this in mind, You will make it!!!! With your sanity in tact.

    Oh, and nice yarn, like the sock too. Happy Wednesday.

  3. I made a hat out of that same Noro colorway – I love the natural colors! I’ll be interested to see how you like the sock yarn!
    AND your lace sock is Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

