A belated day 6

It’s inevitable. Every time my dh leaves for a business trip, calamity strikes. Oh, it starts out well enough. We get past the 1/2 hour meltdown that all three seem to have where I think “oh great, this will be a wonderful week.” I decide to stop whining & get down to business. I dream up huge plans of cleaning every room, reorganizing the toys, catching up on laundry, and feeding the boys well balanced & timely meals.

This time I even made it through most of the day following through. I tortured the baby (but only a little) so he would skip the late afternoon nap he takes sometime, so he would go down for the night at 6:30. The boys had (mostly) nutritious snack trays for dinner, and were in bed by 7:30. During story time I was firm…they only wheedled one extra story out of me. 😉

Then it all went down the drain.

Spencer woke up before they were asleep, then would not go back to sleep. Aiden ended up coming in to sleep with us, then I fell asleep. At 8pm. I woke up at 11, to Spencer still nursing. I managed to sneak away 10 minutes later, but 5 minutes after that he woke up again. And did not settle for 3 hours. That was helped along by both he & Aiden having apparently coming down with spring colds. Ugh. So when one wasn’t coughing, sniffling or treating us to a wonderful solo of congested snoring, he was being woken up by the other one who was. I’m pretty sure I dozed off a few times, and got an hour or so of sleep in before 4 am, when Aiden started kicking me as if he were running in place. I figured out he had to use the potty & crossly told him to get up & go before passing out again. I woke up at 4:30 to Ian insisting I go to the bathroom with him. I found Aiden there cleaning up the mess he made.

Apparently the poor guy couldn’t get the toilet seat up fast enough & doused the floor instead. Being the self-sufficient boy he is, he grabbed a dozen or so (cloth) napkins and laid them out side by side all over the bathroom floor to clean up the mess. Of course I felt like a heel for not waking up to help him in the first place, so I gave him some extra cuddles & didn’t complain when we were all back in (the same) bed & I found myself surrounded by 3 little furnaces who like to unconsciously kick and twitch.

I tell ya; it’s a miracle I made it through the day without passing out in exhaustion. Thankfully a friend or two dropped by today & our kids amused each other for the most part, so I got a bit of a break (and some grown up conversation). I also received the yarn for my “day 7” post!! Yes I know, it is day 7, but ya’ll will just have to wait until Tuesday for it, because today you get day 6; which is the remnant yarns I bought a bit of here & there.

First is a ravelry find — really you could call it a “ravelry found me,” because another member saw a post I made about liking magic stripes sock yarn for my boys’ socks & she PMed me with an offer. So now I have this:

magic stripes

Next we have the other 1/2 of the Briar Rose yarn I bought to split with February’s MBOY swap on Mothering.com. It is incredibly yummy:

Briar Rose briar rose

Last is a single, lonely skein of Reynolds Gypsy cotton. This was actually a gift from Tina; formerly of Lily Lane Knits. She came back from Switzerland for a visit last month & brought a bag of yarn for us to paw through that had been sitting in her storage room here in the US. If memory serves, I also snagged a ball of bulky and a kids pattern, but those are both buried in the mess that is my craft room.

reynolds gypsy cotton

No idea what I’m going to do with this, it feels sooo nice.  Maybe I’ll hunt up a few more skeins and make a top for my favorite (read: smallest, quickest to complete projects for) niece.

I’ve shown you yarn now (maybe not all the most exciting yarn, but yarn, nonetheless).  So I don’t feel bad about begging you to send my children all your best sleepy vibes/prayers/wishes.  I promise you my undying gratitude…and perhaps less incoherent rants about the difficulties of motherhood!

And on that note…the baby is awake.  Again!

One thought on “A belated day 6

Leave a Reply

