It’s been a while…

I haven’t been feeling the urge to blog, lately. Maybe it’s because all of my knitting projects are long term ones? Not that I mind that. Just the other night I happily sat down to a cute chick flick with 4 different projects & knit on each one for as long as I wanted **the baby slept for 3 entire hours alone!!!***

My Noro socks are plodding along — I might have another inch before the heel. The chevron scarf is about 13 inches long, and I’ve finally started working on my sister’s Mingus socks again. I also knit (most of) a white sunhat for Spencer…except it ended up fitting me! Of course the “bucket” is too shallow looking, so it doesn’t quite work for me either. I’m going to have to rip all the way back to the top to re-make it for Spence, or all the way back to above the stripe for me (I really think the stripe needs to be at the bottom of the bucket part). Ugh. Heavy/slubby worsted weight cotton knit on 5’s…my fingers are starting to cramp up just thinking about it…here it is in it’s present state:

sunhat 1

I have dreams of similar ones for both of the other boys (and myself, lol) with different stripes…orange & green, light & dark green… I’m not sure if I’ll ever get to it, though.

In other news, I’ve been reading some great parenting books. The first was “Easy to Love, Difficult to Discipline,” and the second was “How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk.” The former is good, but aimed at slightly older kids, but the latter is simply amazing. The same authors wrote “Siblings Without Rivalry” which I’ll be hunting down soon. I really enjoyed the easy format, little stories (even cartoons in them, lol), and non-preachy style. They pretty much verbalized my parenting philosophy, but also gave me resources & ideas on how to practically carry them out. Now to just get the energy to do so! DH is going to be reading the “How to Talk..” book now that I’ve finished it (a bit unenthusiastically). I’m really hoping that it will give him some insight into our 3 year old so he doesn’t get so annoyed with him.

Oh! Check out said 3 year old’s new “do!”

aiden haircut

Also please note the 2 different sandals. This is deliberate and a carry over from a winter of purposely mis-matched socks. Ah well, different drummers & all that, right? I actually think it’s kinda cute! Ds1, on the other hand, has just adapted the 2 shirt style; I think he’s been watching too much Zach & Cody. 😉

Here’s a look at my gorgeous niece, Haley & her Mom & Dad (my sis & my bil).

haley

She is such a sweet, squishy little thing — almost 10 months old & crawling around & trying to pull up all over. I bet she’d come visit more often if Spencer stopped bashing her in the head with toys…

On the stash accumulation front, I have only a little to share. I received the last of my Zen Yarn Garden “subtle solids” sock yarn collection:

zen string "bling yarn"

This is “bling yarn.” Hmmmm…. I’m not much of a bling person, but still — the color is nice, & I do have a couple teen-aged sisters… All in all it was a fun club, but I won’t be re-upping. Maybe I’ll try another club this fall when the holiday present money comes in.

On the non-yarn front, the local Artists market started up a couple weeks ago. I love it, but I feel guilty that I can’t buy more, you know? This week I’ve saved up my money to buy a pottery bowl from the nice boy who just graduated high school (I think) who’s saving up for a kiln. In the meantime, I bought a couple little things…

artists market

That face just makes you smile, doesn’t it?

And then I made the “mistake” of wandering by the Artist’s Co-op on Main St. and saw this in the window…it’s the reason I was broke last week & couldn’t buy the pottery bowl then!

glass

I have to show ya’ll this stuff because when I show my dh, he makes charming comments such as, “this is what you spend your money on?” Humpfh…lol.

Anywho, I’m off to knit a few rows/rounds before bed, or maybe read another chapter in this Obama biography…interesting, and not entirely complementary, but quite honest (sounding). I’ll let you know when I’ve finished.

If anyone has any recommendations, I’d be interested in reading up on McCain, as well (erm, not that I see myself voting for him, but still — I like to be educated, you know?).

G’night!

6 thoughts on “It’s been a while…

  1. The “bling yarn” is beautiful!
    And your 3 year old is cute with his sandals 🙂

    I’ve been reading books and searching the net for some good ideas on how to be a better parent…. Having four kids, there is a battle some times just to get them to bed sometimes…

  2. Your bucket hat is going to turn out super cute – even if you have to rip back. That Mingus pattern is awesome! Holy cow – those will be cool!

    What is the local Artists market – guess I’m out of the loop over here in BC

  3. It is so nice to hear from you again! I was starting to really miss the lovely kid stories and photos. Just when I was wondering once again, “what is cinnamonamon up to?” you have posted! So glad to hear all is well. Love the photos, and I really like the sun catcher it is lovely! Too bad about the hat, but when you are done, it will be a great hat. Keep well!

  4. oh. i hear you on the knitting front.
    those bucket hats will look adorable on your cute children.
    and i so remember the fashion sense of my little ones. two different shoes is perfect!

Leave a Reply

