Picot & Lace Armwarmers

toinette's fingerless mitts

You may remember these armwarmers from Christmas. Upon seeing the ones I knit for my youngest sister, another one begged, pleaded, & demanded a pair for herself as a Birthday gift. I’ve also taken this opportunity to write up the pattern and post it…although I could have sworn I’d already done that!

Without further ado:

Yarn: Paton’s Classic Merino Wool in black & brown. Perhaps half a skein of the brown (although I doubt even that much) and maybe a handful of yards of the black.

Needles: Size 7 dpns

R= round

CO 40 sts in black, join for knitting in the round (R)
k2 R
*k2tog, yo*
k3 R

change to brown

K2 R, then:

R1: K7, yo, ssk, k3, yo, ssk, K rest of round
R2: K7 k2tog, yo, k3, k2tog, yo, k rest of round

Repeat these 2 rounds until 9 1/2 inches from the picot yo/k2tog round.

At the same time:

at 3, 4 & 5 inches:

3 inches: k4, ssk, k1, k pattern above, k1, k2tog
4 inches: k3, ssk, k1, k pattern above, k1, k2tog
5 inches: k2, ssk, k1, k pattern above, k1, k2tog

At 9 1/2 inches, k17 sts (keeping to pattern), BO 4 sts (On the 2nd mitt, you will K29 (keeping to pattern), then BO4, k1). At the next round CO 4 sts using the backward loop cast on.

Continue knitting in pattern, repeating decrease pattern at 1 & 2 inches past thumb hole.

K1 round, switch to black.

K1 round, but at pattern decrease do as follows: k2tog, k3, k2tog. K rest of round

K 2 more rounds
K picot round: *k2tog, yo*
k 2 more rounds
BO all sts.

Sew picots down, weave in ends & enjoy!

Edited on May 6, 2009…Missyfee seems to be the first person to knit & post pictures of these armwarmers on Ravelry. She edited the pattern for dk weight yarn & to be knit from the fingers and up the arm, then she kindly posted the details here. Enjoy!

19 thoughts on “Picot & Lace Armwarmers

  1. those are SUPER cute Carolynn… too bad (for the **armwarmers’** sakes) that I dont live somewhere cold…

    BTW- I have been updating my blog a little bit – I just started pushing twitter – and will be rolling notes from FB over soon. 🙂

  2. Hi – I love the look of these armwarmers – – I think I’m being quite thick, but what does ‘R’ mean in your pattern (Row? rep?) and what is R1 and R2?

    Thanks 🙂

  3. These look perfect but I’m also struggling to follow the short-hand in the pattern.
    Are they knitted on 3 needles in the round?

  4. Hi
    Can anyone help me? I really don’t understand how to get the scalloped edge at the top of the mittens. I haven’t followed the pattern exactly. I have knitted it all in Purl so my gloves aren’t inside out on my needles. I just want to be able to change colour and get that nice edge at the fingers.
    Thanks

  5. Pingback: Knitting Arm Warmers « KibCrafts

  6. HELP! can anyone tell me what the “K pattern above” means in the following instructions? I dont know which “pattern above” this refers too.

    3 inches: k4, ssk, k1, k pattern above, k1, k2tog
    4 inches: k3, ssk, k1, k pattern above, k1, k2tog
    5 inches: k2, ssk, k1, k pattern above, k1, k2tog

    Any suggestions would be terrific, thanks! I love this pattern and want to finish my warmer 🙂

    • Hi! The pattern above are the “R1 & R2” lines…those two rounds make up the pattern. If you have any other questions please don’t hesitate to ask! Also, I’m cinnamonamon on ravelry. 🙂

  7. Novice knitter here, looking for a project when I finish my current dishcloth (I recently started learning at a group in church)… How difficult would you say this pattern is? The instructions look fairly straightforward but I wanted to ask before I show this to my teacher and she laughs at me or something lol.

    • I’ve seen people knit socks for their first project! If you want to, you can definitely do it. You will probably need some help as I haven’t put in a lot of explanation, though. You will be learning to knit in the round, do 2 different types of decreases (k2tog & ssk), and yarn overs (yo). good luck!

      • Thanks! I’m sure it will take a while (being new = going slow!) but I’ll post a pic when it’s done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

